RSS

How to make soft chapati for Christmas!

22 Dec

By now you should already know chapati (aka chapo) warm my heart but despite that, I do not know how to make them. This coming Christmas will be be first I’ll spend away from home and from mum, (momma’s boy ni wewe!). I will be hosting a few friends and family over for lunch and chapati has to be in the menu. My options were to go the usual and go to buy them from chege my chapo guy or make them myself, but I don’t know how to.

I took up the challenge and decided I have to learn, how to make me some so that I can brag about it later, my first stop was wikihow and later these one and two sites.

I went through the motions mentioned in the websites above and I managed to make myself something that smelled like chapati, tasted like chapati and looked almost like a chapati so it must have been chapati :-D.

My process

My chapati making process

I shared the photos with my mum and some friends and these were their responses:

Mom's comment

My friends comment

I have so many perfectionists around.

So what were the key lessons I can share?

  1. You will burn your fingers! Use a spatula if you have one to turn them in the pan.
  2. Always keep checking the heat and regulating it, too hot your chapatis will burn, too low and they will not cook properly
  3. Do not be mean with the oil while cooking, because this is what will help coming out with soft non dry chapatis. Not being does not mean you pour all of it in there ey, chapos are not deepfried haha.

What else can you add?

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “How to make soft chapati for Christmas!

  1. woolie

    December 22, 2015 at 10:42 am

    The final product looks very heart-warming and your timing couldn’t be better! My first Christmas present; thanks.

    Making chapati is not for the faint-hearted or the impatient. That is why most people: boys and girls go out to buy. The fact that you rolled up your sleeves and ‘got messy’, Mackel is a clear indication that you are not scared of new ventures and you are quite happy to follow instructions.

    After years of attempting to make reasonable chapters, myself, I can assure you that after four or five more years you will have perfect circles of soft, warm chapati that will wow your guests every time. However you will never make them as good as mum’s.

    Merry Christmas to you and all your wonderful readers. May 2016 be a year of peace and plenty for us all.

     
    • Mackel9

      December 22, 2015 at 11:43 pm

      Merry Christmas Woolie and a fulfilling 2016. I want to learn in the mean time as I wait to get a mama watoto, then I can forget that I can cook comfortably πŸ˜‰

       
    • Savvy Kenya

      January 2, 2016 at 3:08 pm

      After 4-5 years or 4-5 attempts Woolie? Because I wonder when I will ever get good at this chapati business. And on Kenyan Twitter chapati is the mark of a good wife, at this rate I shall never get married (to a KOT)!

       
      • Mackel9

        January 3, 2016 at 12:23 am

        So on Christmas I had my guests, and guess what? My chapos were soft, like really soft. Though I admit I had someone overlooking what I was doing and making corrections along the process. Was it fun? Yes. Will it be something I do regularly? No! It is way cheaper buying them, two hours to make 15 chapos is not worth it unless they are that special guest

         

Leave a Reply: Please use proper grammar, spelling. Avoid using chat codes like ur, nyc, gr8 e.t.c.

 
