RSS

Mpesa name confirmation function

21 Oct

On Monday I got a new update on my Mpesa service by Safaricom, I could now be able to confirm who the recipient to my transaction was, Yaaaay

With the Mpesa name confirmation function; no more lengthy reversal processes, I remember this one time I had to beg someone I had mistakenly send some cash to send it back to me. He promised to do so but after deducting KES 50 for the transaction fees. I was okay, at least he would send me something because I know people who had lost huge amounts of chumz and that was that.

Wait a minute, some concerns

Now if you do not have someone’s number and they are on Safaricom and registered for Mpesa, you do not need truecaller you can easily check up on them and bam, know who your mysterious contact’s name is.

On the flip side, some unscrupulous characters can decide ‘you know what, let us harvest peoples contacts’. Especially those guys always telling you that you have won this or that, it baffles me how people win things they never made entries for in the first place, I have never been a believer in quick money leave alone free money, I always think there are strings attached to it… You have to earn it. Anyway back to my concern, these people will easily convince gullible people, imagine this:

Screenshot_2015-10-21-11-38-44-771Screenshot_2015-10-21-11-40-26-422

Now, imagine the guesses are your actual names? It becomes pretty convincing right? Because the bugger on the other end will know I am a man and not Halima. I understand that after five cancellations without an actual transaction the service will be suspended, but I have buts…

We have one major headache solved, I am happy about that, the new one that might pop up is the one I don’t know how it will be sorted… Or am I making a mountain out of a mole hill?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2015 in Breaking Loose!, Opinion, Review

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Mpesa name confirmation function

  1. woolie

    October 21, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    As a newly retired M-Pesa agent I can tell you hundreds of horror stories of sending chapaa to the wrong recipient. Impaired vision, Hangover, texting whilst driving or in the pub, Amnesia – these were just a few of the many reasons people gave for sending money to the wrong number. In the early days, customer service would say – “Oops, sorry ma’am but if the person has already drawn the money there is nothing we can do..” The registration of all sim cards helped a little but the reversal process is still long winded and depends on getting through to customer services quickly. This new feature, Mackel9, is a life saver and should be welcomed in all quarters.

    Every new development has the potential to be misused and abused by criminals and service provider, in conjunction with other stake holders must quickly identify the vulnerabilities of this new piece of software and together develop solutions to mitigate the effects of crooked individuals who, sadly, are part and parcel of society.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

     
    • Mackel9

      October 21, 2015 at 1:27 pm

      I simply cannot add anything else to that Sir else I water it. It is always a pleasure having you here Woolie, but that storo of you being an agent, you are pulling wool over my eyes right? *Finally used wool, yay, haha*

       

Leave a Reply: Please use proper grammar, spelling. Avoid using chat codes like ur, nyc, gr8 e.t.c.

 
