RSS

Shopping online part two

01 Oct

Sometimes this year I had some bad experience with dx.com where I bought a replacement battery for my iPod but never got to see it. After numerous complaints and automated responses I finally gave up. I was bummed, but I was willing still to try out other sites and see how it would go. I am not a gambler, but I think my archetype would be that of a connector. If I discover something good I am that one person who will refer their friends, I am not mean with information. So sometimes this leads me to try risky stuff at times, the things you start by saying “I’ll try this one time and one time only”. Case in point would be last week when I went to my barber and I was convinced to exfoliate, the experience was more of someone sandpapering my face, no way I’m recommending that hehe. Okay let me stop digressing. I recently tried shopping online again, I found myself on eBay since all the other stores do not ship to Kenya.

Enter eBay

I got myself an affordable phone and I wanted a screen protector for it. Those are cheap phone problems, you have to find a way to protect your screen from scratches. After many trips around town looking for the right fit I could not find any shop which had screen protectors for Lenovo. This made me go online to look for a solution.  I found this tempered glass I really loved, tempered glass is better than the plastic film screen protectors they sell, plus the price was basically the same. First I went to my good old amazon.com, I add it to my cart but on checking out I find that it cannot be shipped. That sends me to square one again. I go to eBay and find several merchants in China selling the tempered glass I wanted. I look for the one with the most stars for delivering and order my screen protector glass. They said it would take two to three weeks I would pass by the post office to check if my consignment has arrived. Finally after four weeks I found it tucked in my box. I was so excited I nearly jumped… I guess not all the merchants in China are shady after all 🙂

Ps. Did I mention that even the phone was bought online? Maybe I am a gambler after all, a tiny weeny little bit. Which means I have warranty from India not Kenya, but that comes with risk ey?

My colleague bought a phone on Jumia and got it delivered in a day! Maybe that is my next stop… watch this space.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2014 in Comfort zone., Just Random, Opinion, Review

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Shopping online part two

  1. KuiwaNjuguna

    October 1, 2014 at 9:52 am

    Umepotea sana!

     
    • mackel9

      October 1, 2014 at 9:56 am

      Just been swamped at work, I write stories in my head but when I get home I my energy levels are critically low I cannot type… (excuses siwezi kosa hehe). How are you Kui? How has your self discovery journey been? 🙂

       
      • KuiwaNjuguna

        October 1, 2014 at 12:47 pm

        Haha that excuse passes – I have been well though. My journey is going well, I am much more at ease.

         
      • mackel9

        October 1, 2014 at 12:52 pm

        I am pleased to hear that you have been able to find what you had been searching for 🙂

         
      • KuiwaNjuguna

        October 1, 2014 at 11:35 pm

        Thanks – it’s a good place to be in.

         
  2. Savvy Kenya (@savvykenya)

    October 3, 2014 at 9:22 am

    Jumia is good, I promote them you’d think I own shares there, hehe.. I get info from you so please, keep on taking risks 🙂

     
    • mackel9

      October 3, 2014 at 9:36 am

      Heeeeeey Savvy, this means you finally found “Free WiFi” 🙂 Had a nice trip? What was your first thought on getting on the streets? Your IG should now be really active…
      Haha, do you own shares in Jumia? I will try to keep up with this deviance 😉

       

Leave a Reply: Please use proper grammar, spelling. Avoid using chat codes like ur, nyc, gr8 e.t.c.

 
