RSS

Mugged

16 Dec

It’s Sunday, 15th December 2013. I get to Nairobi at 6.15pm after visiting family members back home, after the long Jamhuri weekend. My head is filled with random thoughts and what I will have for supper, I do not feel like cooking today; should I pass by Uchumi and get a power sandwich, go get some pilau from tuskys or just buy some junk is all am debating as I cross Haile Selassie road from Easy coach station. I spot this bakers inn and junk is what I decide on having as supper thanks to my lazy self. I get some meat pies and cupcakes for breakfast and start heading to ge my matatus to the house.

The streets are not crowded as they normally are, since my phone does not have enough charge I make mental

Image: theguardian.com

Image: theguardian.com

notes to call a few people (especially my new flame hehe) and reply to a number of messages on whatsapp. As I cross Ronald Ngala I decide to avoid the traffic on the Moi avenue side and use Tom Mboya where there are fewer people. I wait for a citi hoppa bus to pass and cross on the back side of national archives. I see two guys quickly pass me and someone taps my shoulder “tupe soo” to mean give us a hundred shillings, before I can take in what is happening I have a group of six guys surrounding me, and my phone and some money are gone. I am stunned I don’t even know what to think. Some ladies who were passing are telling me “you should have screamed”, am just dumb and slowly start walking to my matatus. “Should I have tried to fight back?” “Should I have screamed” “Should I have used the other side of Moi Avenue with more people?” I don’t know. My greatest sadness is having not backed up last weeks documents. The stories I had heard about that happening and the script was the same but I was not better prepared, I now need to get used to not having some of the conveniences my phone provided me…

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2013 in Comfort zone.

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Mugged

  1. Alex

    December 16, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Pole sana sir.

    Now, stop doing that. Don’t blame yourself for what happened, shit happens. If you want to pick on someone, pick on the greedy buggers who took what wasn’t theirs.

    PS. On a completely unrelated note, this snow thing you have is most fascinating, it moves with the mouse man. What!!! 🙂 Merry Christmas.

     
    • mackel9

      December 16, 2013 at 3:28 pm

      You mean to tell me I should accept and move on? Hehehe I have done that though it was hard coming to terms hehehe My small cousin is taunting me for having done karate and it never came to my aid lol. Merry Christmas to you too Alex
      PS I should give gift vouchers to people who have commented most here this year and you make the list 🙂 Thank you for that…

       
      • Alex

        December 18, 2013 at 5:53 pm

        Karate? Hahaha… You might not want to share that with too many people, lest they offer you a plank to crush with your hand, all ninja like.

        I didnt know there was a list man, if I did I’d have said nice things. 🙂

         
      • mackel9

        December 19, 2013 at 9:50 am

        I think I missed the class where they were breaking planks with hands hehe

         
  2. Project44

    December 17, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    Pole sana @M9. In hindsight, there are things you will feel or other people will feel you ought to have done but there is no need to beat yourself about it. Look forward and Merry Christmas.

    P.S. I would not have noticed that snow-mouse thingie so Alex, thanks for pointing it out – it’s pretty cool!

    P.S.S. M9, tunangojea hizo vouchers and if 44 is not on the list, we will demand to see the green book! 😉

     
    • mackel9

      December 17, 2013 at 3:13 pm

      Nishapoa Fridah and Joyce 🙂

      Gift vouchers are coming just wait for the surprise hehehe

       
  3. woolie

    December 31, 2013 at 9:24 pm

    You don’t sound angry……..You are already a Ninja

     
    • mackel9

      January 1, 2014 at 2:09 pm

      There is nothing to be angry about, Woolie, my friends always says “Utalijua jiji”(You will know the city) That point and time I let down my radars and I definately “nikalijua jiji” lol. We live, we learn we move on ey? About the ninja part am not too sure about, but thanks anyway 🙂

       

Leave a Reply: Please use proper grammar, spelling. Avoid using chat codes like ur, nyc, gr8 e.t.c.

 
