RSS

Mentor

29 Oct

I am in a phase in life where I am experimenting a lot and I find myself in search of a mentor, a guide, a coach someone who “has been there done that” I need someone to tell me “son that path will lead you into deep shit avoid it at all costs!” This search has been as a realization that there is a lot that I do not need to experience on my own there are avoidable mistakes or so I think…

I started with identifying people who are where I want to be and probably have passed through the same experiences I am going through at the moment and settled on a few, then the courtship began courting grown ass people is hard! Let’s just say that people who have been there done that are “busy” people and getting a spare moment when they can listen to your mundane problems is hard unless of course you can be able to show them what is in it for them… cutting a short story long the search is yet to bear any fruit or maybe just maybe my courtship methods are flawed! I have resorted to books in a quest to find answers I seek and stalking some of the people I admire like Allan here, I hope the answers will not stay hidden far away…

Do you feel like you need a mentor? Suppose you just got a new job, started a new company, finished college, got married do you feel the need to seek guidance in the new paths unknown and uncertain to you but maybe known to another? Share your thoughts.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2012 in Breaking Loose!, Comfort zone., Maturity, New waters!

 

8 responses to “Mentor

  1. Project44

    October 30, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    I think it is hard to develop this kind of relationship(s)when it takes the angle of ” i am looking for a mentor”. I think it works best if it is not planned, but evolves over time to include the aspect of mentoring …..

     
    • mackel9

      October 31, 2012 at 8:47 pm

      Guess I don’t like waiting then!!! I’ll stay restless till I bag me one lol

       
  2. OtienoHongo

    November 5, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    I have had quite some mentors in my life. However I never did set out to look for a mentor, just made friends and realized that certain people had a lot to offer and so I learned from them. Don’t try too hard…

     
    • mackel9

      November 6, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      Two similar views… Yours and Project’s hmmm maybe its time I stopped looking too hard then 🙂

       
  3. Alex

    January 2, 2013 at 11:55 am

    Your Branson post got me thinking about this post and your search for a mentor. I hope you realise that you’ve already found (and discarded probably) several mentors already, in your books, lessons learned and what not.

     
    • mackel9

      January 6, 2013 at 12:37 am

      Lol maybe I need more, I need to feel a personal touch, books help you learn the person and their experiences and that is it hehehe I hope you get where I am headed to though…

       
      • Alex

        January 6, 2013 at 6:34 pm

        I do, and I know you’ll find what you’re looking for in due course. The books are simply guides, door openers is you will. Be wary though, putting people on pedestals has the unfortunate consequence of exposing their clay feet, sometimes less personal is better.

         
      • mackel9

        January 6, 2013 at 9:17 pm

        I hear you, thank you Alex.

         

Leave a Reply: Please use proper grammar, spelling. Avoid using chat codes like ur, nyc, gr8 e.t.c.

 
