RSS

I BOUGHT A CAR

22 Sep

I have re-blogged this post from a teacher who has several other titles you can see the original post and other posts here

My friend was so excited when she bought her first car. I rejoiced with her and told her that she now had the keys to the world. Two weeks later, I met her at the bus stop looking sad, ashamed and a little surprised to see me. When I asked about the car, she broke into tears. I was taken aback until I listened to her story…

“I am so disappointed. I was hoping the car would drive me all around town. I thought that I would be able to show off to all my friends and give people rides. And I really thought it would make a difference in my life, but it just sits there doing nothing”.

Do you feel the same way about your college diploma, your job, your spouse, your family or whatever it is you thought would make you happy or rich? Do you really expect it to drive you everywhere you want? Are you disappointed that it doesn’t?

Allan

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2012 in Comfort zone.

 

9 responses to “I BOUGHT A CAR

  1. Ghafla!Guy

    September 24, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    No. I learnt a long time ago that you should be comfortable with what you have. There will always be people who are well dressed or richer than you. You just have to find that perfect balance and live stress free.

     
    • mackel9

      September 25, 2012 at 9:16 pm

      I couldn’t agree more, but most of the times we chase vanity before we come to that realization…

       
  2. OtienoHongo

    September 26, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    Ha ha, hilarious! Fortunately I don’t feel like that!

     
    • mackel9

      September 26, 2012 at 8:51 pm

      Seems all my readers have already straightened out their lives referring to you and ghafla… It’s good to hear from you Otieno and me thinks we owe each other drinks!

       
      • OtienoHongo

        September 28, 2012 at 12:09 pm

        Yes, we owe each other a drink!!!

         
  3. Nyambura

    October 1, 2012 at 8:50 am

    🙂 Hilarious yet true to life. I used to feel like this some years back…till I had my aha moment (the one Ghafla is referring to)

     
  4. woolie (@wooliekondoo)

    October 19, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    What a sad tale. I am sure that there is a moral to this story but I haven’t quite figured it out. I heard a similar story not too long ago about a woman who played a lottery every week without fail. One week her numbers came in and she’d won the jackpot. She secretly gave it all away to charity – to her mind it was the dreams, hopes and expectations that made her play – winning robbed her of these dreams…….(what?)

     
  5. Project44

    October 30, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    Fortunately not ! In many ways,i feel blessed,this includes not attaching so much meaning to these things;knowing what really makes a difference ….

     
  6. mwalimubest

    November 2, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    This story has great life lessons. We often think that material things can give us joy…only Jesus can. We should be appreciative of those things God has given us…and not obsessed with them!

     

Leave a Reply: Please use proper grammar, spelling. Avoid using chat codes like ur, nyc, gr8 e.t.c.

 
