RSS

Compliments of a friend.

24 May

Today I was going through my old notes and came across this poem by Ogden Nash, and I feel it best describes melancholy we fall into once in a while…

How many gifted pens have penned
That Mother is a boys best friend!
How many more like afflatus
Award the do that honoured status!
I hope my tongue in prune juice smothers
If I belittle dogs or Mothers,
But gracious, how can I agree?
I know my own best friend is me.
We share our joys and aversions,
We’re thicker than the Medes and Persians,
We blend like voices in a chorus,
The same things please the same things bore us.
If I am broke, then Me needs money;
If I make a joke, Me finds it funny.
I know what I like, Me knows what art is:
We hate people at the cocktail parties,
When I can stand the crowd no more,
Why, me is halfway to the door!
I am a dodo, Me a hawk;
We grieve that pictures learned to talk;
For every sin that I produce
Kind Me can find some soft excuse,
And when I blow a final gasket,
Who but me will share the my casket?
Beside us, Pythias and Damon
Were just two unacquainted laymen.
Sneer not, for if you answer true,
Don’t you feel that way about YOU?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2011 in Just Random

 

6 responses to “Compliments of a friend.

  1. savvy08

    May 24, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Sigh… you’re right.

     
  2. OtienoHongo

    May 24, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Hmm, good poem. Had not come across it before.

     
    • mackel9

      May 25, 2011 at 2:05 pm

      Reason I put it up, what good would it have been if you had it etched in you mind already? Lol

       
  3. lostinthot

    May 25, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    I love it! It’s just me and my inexplicable internal darknesses that come and go. Thanks for posting it.

     
    • mackel9

      May 31, 2011 at 3:21 pm

      Your mind is always a maze for me i’d like to get lost in it someday, holla before you get into deep thots i join you. Thank you for passing by Claudette

       

Leave a Reply: Please use proper grammar, spelling. Avoid using chat codes like ur, nyc, gr8 e.t.c.

 
