RSS

Vagaries of life

06 Dec

I have been away from blogosphere for a while, I know, but my friend Heir happened to have this amazing post which will compensate for that little absence… 🙂

Lately I have been very worried about what people around me think of me. Once I dared to ask and I was both glad and sad to discover that what I thought they thought was nothing close to what they were actually thinking! I had been weighed down by the thought of how they thought I was childish, immature…………. Let me save the rest in order to save face. Little did I know that what they thought of me was almost and in some ways more than what I thought of myself and it broke my heart and at the same time it encouraged me.

It was then that I remembered of a short poem I read a long time ago:

 

Man comes into this world without his consent and has it against his will. On earth, he is misjudged and misunderstood. In infancy, he is an angel; in boyhood he is a devil; In manhood he is a fool. If he has a family and a wife, he is a champion. If he is a bachelor, he is inhuman and mean. If he enters a public house he is a drunkard. If he steps out he is temperamental, a fanatic and a miser. If he is poor, he has no brains. If he is rich he has the lucky strike in the world and is a crook.

If he has brains he is considered too smart. If he goes to church he is a hypocrite. If he stays away he is sinful. If he gives to charity or does a good turn, it’s for advertisement. If he does not, he is stingy and mean. When he dies young, there was a great future for him. If he lives to a ripe old age everyone hopes that he has made a will.

It is therefore impossible to please anybody.

So do your duty and make fearless, use your common sense and if you ever make a mistake, it is better than nothing.

Anon

Finally the point was home (am not sure it was dry though) and I realized that the bottom line is that God is the only legit judge and all the rest are quarks. I therefore strive to please him only because on judgment day, He’ll sure have the final say.

Heir 2010



 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2010 in Just Random

 

8 responses to “Vagaries of life

  1. fiestycat

    December 6, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    word!

     
    • mackel9

      December 7, 2010 at 12:27 pm

      Thank you for passing by 🙂

       
  2. raymondchepkwony

    December 7, 2010 at 7:22 am

    I will judge this post as being excellent! Welcome back to the blogosphere!!

     
    • mackel9

      December 7, 2010 at 12:29 pm

      Thanks Ray, I will try and stay around his time.

       
  3. moha

    December 9, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    wow, this is awesome stuff……very encouragin. Better be laughed at now but in the end be in good terms with the last man standin- GOD

     
  4. moha

    December 9, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    oh, i forgot to say I love the title!

     
  5. nickae

    February 1, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    awesome read.

     
  6. new england aquarium online coupons

    August 4, 2012 at 2:36 am

    new england aquarium online coupons This is great info! Thanks!

    Thank you so much for the info!

    Keep the info coming! Thanks!

    I appreciate all that contributed to this thread because the info is very helpful! Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply: Please use proper grammar, spelling. Avoid using chat codes like ur, nyc, gr8 e.t.c.

 
